clear and interrupt handler - problem? - Page 2


+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 13 of 13

Thread: clear and interrupt handler - problem?28 days old

  1. #11
    Administrator John Drew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,680
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 124
    Given: 32
    Total Downloaded
    3.69 GB

    1 Not allowed!

    Default Re: clear and interrupt handler - problem?

    A near miss Stephen
    Good question George. My gut says no, but if it didn't what's the point of it. So I'm ignoring the gut and putting money on it does.
    We may have to wait for the master - or heaven forbid, trying it.
    John
    Still on my phone. Been playing with KiCad. Impressed.

  2. Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  3. #12
    Senior Member tumbleweed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    439
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 84
    Given: 0
    Total Downloaded
    243.13 MB

    1 Not allowed!

    Default Re: clear and interrupt handler - problem?

    I wonder does "Dim bVar as Byte = 5" work for a software reset?
    Yes it does. It initializes the variable at the start of the main routine.

  4. Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  5. #13
    Fanatical Contributor top204's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,229
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 372
    Given: 131
    Total Downloaded
    1.58 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: clear and interrupt handler - problem?

    Whoops..... You are right John. I thought I had added the assignment loading to the manual a year or so back! I'll take a look in my backups of the manual and see if it was in one that I didn't publish.

    They are a very handy mechanism that allows variables and arrays to have a value when they are created, although it is always a wise programming move to have a Setup procedure or subroutine that sets or clears all the variables used in the program, and explains in a comment why it is the value it is and what it does etc... This makes programs more stable because the writer has initial control of them.

    In any Proton BASIC program, the clear must be the very first command in the program. Before anything else is performed, so the best place to put it is underneath the Device = driective and the Declare Xtal directive. Never have a Clear command being issued by the program itself, because it will wipe everything in RAM. Unless it has a variable or bit name after it, then it simply clears that variable or bit.

  6. Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Interrupt Problem
    By roger in forum Proton 24
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 3rd November 2013, 21:14
  2. What does the 'Clear' command actually clear?
    By HelpMe! in forum Proton Plus Compiler v3
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th January 2009, 08:52
  3. PORTB.2 not working in INT handler
    By precision in forum Proton Plus Compiler v3
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17th August 2007, 13:43

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts