PicKit4, cosa ne pensate?


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20

Thread: PicKit4, cosa ne pensate?263 days old

  1. #1
    Junior Member wirecut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    96
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 5
    Total Downloaded
    1.16 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default PicKit4, cosa ne pensate?

    I have changed my PC, and this new PC with Windows 10 does not have a parallel port.

    I used a MeLabs programmer that was great.


    I have to buy a PIC programmer via USB and I am undecided whether to buy the PicKi2 or the PicKit3 or the last PicKit4.


    Which programmer do you suggest?


    Leo

Attention
×

This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


Thank you for your attention.

  • #2
    Prolific Poster towlerg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2,267
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 76
    Given: 182
    Total Downloaded
    5.30 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: PicKit4, cosa ne pensate?

    IIWY I'd buy a PicKit2 clone (yes I know some people complain that clones are unreliable but not in my experience) and if I wanted to use the PIC devices not supported by the microchip versions of software, I would buy PicKit2Plus. Of course you could always get an add-on parallel card.
    George.

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #3
    Junior Member wirecut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    96
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 5
    Total Downloaded
    1.16 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: PicKit4, cosa ne pensate?

    Hi George,

    in reality the PicKit2 of Microchip seems to be best to program the FLASH and the PIC family !6F and 24F.

    Also is easy to found it on ebay.

    Leo

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #4
    Fanatical Contributor top204's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,465
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 305
    Given: 145
    Total Downloaded
    1.99 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: PicKit4, cosa ne pensate?

    I used the melabs Epic programmer from the start in the late 90s, and when I wrote my book about the PICBASIC Pro compiler in 2000, I created my own hardware, but used the software for the Epic. When parallel ports were sadly removed from PCs, I had become so used to the Epic software I bought the melabs U2 programmer. This is the USB version and it is faultless! I've used mine everyday for more than 10 years now without any problems.

    The PICkit programmers are all so dreadful, because each new device has to have new firmware loaded into the programmer everytime. This is annoyingly slow and I have bricked 3 PICkits when the flash on the internal microcontroller has given up because I constantly use different devices for development.
    Last edited by top204; 5th May 2019 at 12:50.

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #5
    Member flosigud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    154
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 8
    Given: 12
    Total Downloaded
    3.12 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: PicKit4, cosa ne pensate?

    It is only Pickit 3 that has to reload the firmware constantly. Pickit 3 was supposed to be improvement over Pickit 2 but it isnt. Ih ave two Pickit 2. I have once had to reprogram one with te other after bricking.
    Flosi Guğmundsson
    Reykjavík

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #6
    Prolific Poster towlerg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2,267
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 76
    Given: 182
    Total Downloaded
    5.30 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: PicKit4, cosa ne pensate?

    t is only Pickit 3 that has to reload the firmware constantly
    Thats not really fair to PK3, it's MpLabX that is doing that. If you run Pk3 stand-alone with either GUI or command line (or even PicKit3Plus) firmware will not be messed with.
    George.

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #7
    Junior Member wirecut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    96
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 5
    Total Downloaded
    1.16 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: PicKit4, cosa ne pensate? PicKit4 What do you think?

    Given the real difficulties we encounter in programming the PICs, it would be a good idea to generate an USB PIC programmer in PDS, so that we ourselves keep it updated with the new PICs.

    I believe it would be a much appreciated product.

    What do you think?

    Leo

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #8
    Senior Member SimonJA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    831
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 14
    Given: 16
    Total Downloaded
    966.48 MB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: PicKit4, cosa ne pensate? PicKit4 What do you think?

    I would get a Pickit 4, it is about the same price as a Pickit 3.

    I got it when it first came out and the device support was pretty bad but now it's much better.

    You can use it with MPLB IPE which it not great but also really not that bad.

    If you want to use older pics then there's probably not much reason to get the Pickit 4 but future chips might not be supported.

    The Pickit 4 is also quite fast and so far has been reliable.

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #9
    Junior Member wirecut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    96
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 5
    Total Downloaded
    1.16 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: PicKit4, cosa ne pensate? PicKit4 What do you think?

    Dear Simon.

    The PicKit4 can be used connected directly to the PDS IDE na dused without the MPLAB IDE?

    Leo

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #10
    Senior Member SimonJA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    831
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 14
    Given: 16
    Total Downloaded
    966.48 MB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: PicKit4, cosa ne pensate? PicKit4 What do you think?

    The MPLAM IPE is Microchip programming software, separate from the IDE.

    As far as I know it can't be used from within PDS but it is only an extra mouse click or two.

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #11
    Junior Member wirecut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    96
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 5
    Total Downloaded
    1.16 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: PicKit4, cosa ne pensate? PicKit4 What do you think?

    Simon, you suggest to buy the PicKit4?

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #12
    Senior Member tumbleweed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    495
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 59
    Given: 0
    Total Downloaded
    408.14 MB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: PicKit4, cosa ne pensate?

    As far as I know it can't be used from within PDS
    There's a command line utility for the PK4 (IPECMD), so if you can get a PK3 to work with PDS I would think you should be able to get the PK4 working as well.

    FWIW the PK3 is available for half price right now on MicrochipDirect (last month they had the ICD3 half off).

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #13
    Senior Member SimonJA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    831
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 14
    Given: 16
    Total Downloaded
    966.48 MB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: PicKit4, cosa ne pensate?

    Simon, you suggest to buy the PicKit4?
    Well I'm happy with it, I also have a 2 and 3, I moved on from the 2 as it didn't support the pic's I wanted to use, I now use the 4 simply because it's quicker than the 3.

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #14
    Junior Member wirecut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    96
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 5
    Total Downloaded
    1.16 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: PicKit4, cosa ne pensate? PicKit4 What do you think?

    I have buy the PICkit4.

    61 Euro at RS-components!

    With the MPLAB X IPE it works and program the 18F4550.

    One big boring difference between the PicKit3 program is the missing autoupdate of the exe, in other word, after compiling, you need to select the exe file and then push the program.
    This operation is really boring because you need to do after every compilation.

    Any suggestion to avoid this steps and use the PICkit4 as the PICkit3?

    Leo

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #15
    Junior Member wirecut's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Posts
    96
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 1
    Given: 5
    Total Downloaded
    1.16 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: PicKit4, cosa ne pensate? PicKit4 What do you think?

    I would say that I solved my trouble.

    Help me this link:
    http://www.protonbasic.co.uk/content.php/4640-Re-New-PICkit-4-available

    a
    nd the right parameter line for me is:

    /P$target-device$ /F"$hex-filename$" /TPPK4 /M /OL

    Many thanks Frizie

    Leo

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

    Thread Information

    Users Browsing this Thread

    There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

       

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts