johngb has just uploaded New Update to Proton Studio! - Page 2


Yesterday 23:03
Forum: Proton Plus Compiler v3
Starter: gdesantis
Views: 0
Replies: 3
Yesterday 20:28
Forum: PICKit Plus
Starter: evan
Views: 0
Replies: 7
Yesterday 11:23
Forum: The Lounge
Starter: Les
Views: 0
Replies: 12
+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    Prolific Poster See_Mos's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    1,212
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 18
    Given: 0
    Total Downloaded
    614.99 MB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: johngb has just uploaded New Update to Proton Studio!

    Bullguard threw a wobbler and quarantined Studio so I will now have another try, telling Bullguard to ignore any threats from Studio.
    My RAM is failing

  2. #12
    Prolific Poster johngb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    2,060
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 87
    Given: 1
    Total Downloaded
    1.48 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: johngb has just uploaded New Update to Proton Studio!

    Sounds like it was never running properly. AVs seem to cause more trouble than they are worth sometimes.
    JohnB

  3. #13
    Member Peter Truman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    307
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 8
    Given: 7
    Total Downloaded
    406.61 MB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: johngb has just uploaded New Update to Proton Studio!

    Well - I've installed the new IDE and I think it looks really good - I long ago abandoned AVG (and Norton) and now rely solely on Windows Defender (Windows 10 64 pro) and a good backup on my NAT and in Dropbox.

    I'm exploring the project structure - looks good to me, as long as I locate my files in a proper, ordered fashion.

    I have just started a new project so I'll start as I mean to go on and see what happens.
    Peter Truman

  4. #14
    Member Peter Truman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    307
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 8
    Given: 7
    Total Downloaded
    406.61 MB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: johngb has just uploaded New Update to Proton Studio!

    One minor quibble -

    I have a particular, systematic style I use for writing code. All my variables are declared like this:

    b_Var_1 as bit (Obviously, the 'Var' part is changed to be a bit more meaningful)
    B_Var_1 as Byte
    W_Var_1 as Word
    D_Var_1 as Double Word
    F_Var_1 as float
    S_Var_1 as string
    A_Var_1 as array etc

    Note - there is a capital letter in every variable name

    When I write code I always write the variable name in lower case - the IDE will capitalise the variable once it is recognised. So I know I have the variable name spelt correctly (saves compilation errors) - likewise, I always know what type of variable I am dealing with.

    The old IDE would capitalise the variable as soon as it is recognised - but the new one will not until I add a space. So previously typing B_Var_1 would immediately capitalise as soon as I hit the '1' - the new IDE will not do so until I add a space. Not a big deal and I'm sure I will get used to it. The old IDE is like an old pair of shoes - you get very comfortable with it, have to break in the new one!
    Peter Truman

  5. #15
    Prolific Poster johngb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    2,060
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 87
    Given: 1
    Total Downloaded
    1.48 GB

    1 Not allowed!

    Default Re: johngb has just uploaded New Update to Proton Studio!

  6. I'm working on improving capitalisation but because of the tools I am using it is not as straight forward. I am going to have to delve into 3rd party software to resolve this. I have already had to do this in another area but this change is much deeper into the 3rd party code.

    I am currently working on adding in a backup system on the lines of Total Recall. When I have finished that I will return to this issue and see what can be done.
    JohnB

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th August 2018, 18:03
  2. johngb has just uploaded Proton Studio Ver 1.0.1.6!
    By johngb in forum Proton Studio
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 25th August 2018, 09:33
  3. johngb has just uploaded Proton Studio Update!
    By johngb in forum Proton Users File Server
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th July 2018, 16:46
  4. johngb has just uploaded Proton Studio Install!
    By johngb in forum Proton Users File Server
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th July 2018, 10:51
  5. johngb has just uploaded Fuse Configurator Update!
    By johngb in forum Proton Users File Server
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th July 2016, 17:54

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts