1602 LCD problem


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: 1602 LCD problem437 days old

  1. #1
    Prolific Poster John Drew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,807
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 89
    Given: 34
    Total Downloaded
    4.60 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default 1602 LCD problem

    I have a working project using a LCD. However it is in draft form and now I want to put it in a box. I have smaller 1602 Lcd that would be ideal. But they don't work. They are supposedly HD44780 compatible. All the dots are faintly alight.
    Has anyone used these el cheapo displays successfully with Proton?
    I have connections correct, the pins are labelled.
    John

Attention

This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


Thank you for your attention.

  • #2
    Prolific Poster towlerg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2,240
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 75
    Given: 181
    Total Downloaded
    5.15 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: 1602 LCD problem

    John, do they look like the ones called ERM1602SBS-2.1 on this page

    Even if they are I've never used one so I cant help but maybe it'll jog somebodies memory.
    George.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #3
    Prolific Poster charliecoultas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    1,355
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 44
    Given: 39
    Total Downloaded
    3.36 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: 1602 LCD problem

    I've used some very cheap ones recommended by Les with success.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #4
    Senior Member Mellbreak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    558
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 36
    Given: 25
    Total Downloaded
    4.40 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: 1602 LCD problem

    I always use the cheapest that I can find on EBay, never had a problem. I wonder if you have a faulty display. I assume that altering the contrast pot has no effect.

    Bob

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #5
    Prolific Poster John Drew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,807
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 89
    Given: 34
    Total Downloaded
    4.60 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: 1602 LCD problem

    Thanks for the replies. Yes George, they are the same kind.
    I have two of these displays and supposedly new. That's why I'm puzzled as both perform in the same way. As well as labels on the boards they came with a data sheet with pin numbers agreeing with the labels and the standard.
    Interestingly the contrast pot doesn't seem to have any effect.
    I'm not using the backlight (low power requirements). Maybe I should as a test. Could it be that simple?
    John

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #6
    Prolific Poster John Drew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2,807
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 89
    Given: 34
    Total Downloaded
    4.60 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: 1602 LCD problem

    Problem solved. It turns out the LCDs I have are 3.3V versions. I turned the volts down on my lab supply and lo and behold the display showed what it should. It's a wonder I hadn't damaged it. The datasheet that came with the two displays showed they were 5V units.
    I do remember buying 3V3 versions years back but I was thrown by the documentation on this batch which clearly stated 5V.
    Moral to the story- (a) don't get old and forget what you bought and in which storage bin they are stored and (b) ignore the documentation something I'm usually rather good at!
    I have now put a slip of paper with 3V3 in large letters in the package and ordered some new 5V units from eBay.
    Sorry to waste your time.
    Cheers
    John


    .

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #7
    Member Oldhack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    169
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 6
    Given: 0
    Total Downloaded
    1.38 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: 1602 LCD problem

    Hello
    Its was not a waste of time, just a reminder that we are getting old, the 3 Volt tiny footprint package stuff is going to drive us older fellows nuts as we solder bridge and burn up parts we thought were 5 Volt.
    I have tried in the last year to be better at marking parts with Number and voltage.
    As the eyes go bad I think I will have to buy a large stock of 5 Volt Dip parts so I can at least keep going.
    Best to you
    Gary

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

    Thread Information

    Users Browsing this Thread

    There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

       

    Similar Threads

    1. Replace the PRINT command to use I2C backpack on 1602 LCD
      By towlerg in forum Projects discussion
      Replies: 263
      Last Post: 2nd November 2018, 18:02
    2. Replies: 20
      Last Post: 15th August 2015, 16:13
    3. 1602 LCD Bottom Row?
      By barkster28 in forum Proton Plus Compiler v3
      Replies: 3
      Last Post: 6th August 2009, 13:41
    4. [SOLVED !] Powertip PC 1602 H LCD
      By robbed666 in forum Proton Plus Compiler v3
      Replies: 13
      Last Post: 15th July 2009, 20:55
    5. [SOLVED !] LCD problem
      By Stijn in forum Mecanique - IDE
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 9th October 2005, 15:51

    Members who have read this thread since 6th December 2019, 13:26 : 0

    Actions :  (Set Date)  (Clear Date)

    You do not have permission to view the list of names.

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts