[SOLVED !] How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?


Closed Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18

Thread: How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?1013 days old

  1. #1
    wirecut
    Guest wirecut's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?

    Connecting the PICKIT3 to a 18F45K40 the programmer SW show:

    NO DEVICE CONNECTED.

    Going to see the list of the programmable PIC there are the 18F45K20, 18F45K22 but the 18F45K50 there are not.

    Making some Googling, no success.

    Any suggestions?

    Leo

Attention

This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


Thank you for your attention.

  • #2
    Senior Member AlbertoFS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    688
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 91
    Given: 2
    Total Downloaded
    4.62 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?

    Hi Leo,
    I had the same problem to program the PIC18F47K40. I had to install the latest version of MPLAB X where the MPLAB IPE PC application is included & updated to write the K40 versions. Maybe there is another solution, but I was in a hurry.

    There is another important detail, the VDD pin of the ICSP connector of the PIC board must be connected to the + VDD of the PIC. Because without this connection the PICKit3 assumes that there is no PIC.
    73's de Alberto ea3agv

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #3
    wirecut
    Guest wirecut's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?

    Hi Alberto.

    I will install MPLAB X.

    About the VDD, it is already connected, because on the same PCB, previously I program the 18F4550.

    Leo

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #4
    Member Mentcleer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Posts
    116
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 2
    Given: 0
    Total Downloaded
    3.08 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?

    Hi wirecut,

    You do not need to have the MPLAB X installed, only the Pickit 3 programmer program, this works well if you want.
    Here Beta release and Last version not beta.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #5
    wirecut
    Guest wirecut's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?

    Hi Mentcleer,

    many thanks for your suggestion.
    I have downloaded the last version as you suggest and selected the 18F_K_ PIC family and the 18F45K40 is not recognized.

    I have a question that I do not have found the answer googling: If I download the MPLAB X, it automatically update the PICKIT3 to recognize the 18F45K40 PIC and the I can remove the MPLAB X?

    Leo

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #6
    Prolific Poster normnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,361
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 78
    Given: 44
    Total Downloaded
    1.39 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?

    On a somewhat related subject I am curious if the MPLAB X - PICkit 3 combination is faster than the stand alone version?
    Last edited by normnet; 18th February 2017 at 03:39.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #7
    Senior Member GAMBOA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    419
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 19
    Given: 0
    Total Downloaded
    203.73 MB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?

    Wirecut,

    IPE (Integrated Programming Environment) is an application that comes within the MPLAB X package. You do not need to run MPLAB X to program a microcontroller, just run IPE.
    There is also an application, I think it is called SWITCH, to change the firmware of PICKIT3.
    IPE does not automatically adjust the micro to be programmed. You have to select from a list the micro that you want to program.
    IPE is uncomfortable in the aspect that you have to change the firmware of PICKIT3 for each different micro that you use. That's what the IPE tool does automatically. But that's what makes it more powerful, since you can program all PICs
    Regards,
    Gamboa

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #8
    Prolific Poster normnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,361
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 78
    Given: 44
    Total Downloaded
    1.39 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?

    Quote Originally Posted by GAMBOA View Post
    Wirecut,

    IPE (Integrated Programming Environment) is an application that comes within the MPLAB X package. You do not need to run MPLAB X to program a microcontroller, just run IPE.
    There is also an application, I think it is called SWITCH, to change the firmware of PICKIT3.
    IPE does not automatically adjust the micro to be programmed. You have to select from a list the micro that you want to program.
    IPE is uncomfortable in the aspect that you have to change the firmware of PICKIT3 for each different micro that you use. That's what the IPE tool does automatically. But that's what makes it more powerful, since you can program all PICs
    Regards,
    Gamboa
    I have heard from several sources as well as personal experience there are issues with IPE. It sometimes doesn't program the latest compiled version of the same file name and path. If so you could try browsing to the source before each compile. Anyone care to share their experience with IPE?

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #9
    Senior Member GAMBOA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    419
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 19
    Given: 0
    Total Downloaded
    203.73 MB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?

    Hi Normnet,
    IPE detects when a .HEX file has changed and requests to load it again. This procedure for development is good. The ideal would be to integrate it with PDS. I do not know if this can be done. On the other hand, IPE has problems when there is an error in the compilation process and the .HEX file is not generated. Then you have to reload the file from the IPE tool. My experience is good with this tool. Also if you have to program 50 or more boards you can activate serialize these micros.
    Regards,
    Gamboa

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #10
    Prolific Poster normnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,361
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 78
    Given: 44
    Total Downloaded
    1.39 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?

    Quote Originally Posted by GAMBOA View Post
    ...On the other hand, IPE has problems when there is an error in the compilation process and the .HEX file is not generated. Then you have to reload the file from the IPE tool..
    Regards,
    Gamboa
    Not sure if I understand. On compiler failure to generate a .hex file IPE requires the user to reload a hex file (browse)?

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #11
    Senior Member tumbleweed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    485
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 59
    Given: 0
    Total Downloaded
    330.54 MB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?

    The commandline tools are included with MPLABX (PK3CMD.EXE for the Pickit3) so you don't have to use the IPE if you want to integrate it into PDS.

    To answer one of the previous questions, once you update it you'll need to keep the new tools. One of the confusing issues with the PK3 is that a number of the programming apps (standalone, MPLABX, MPLAB8, commandline) require their own set of driver firmware to be loaded into the PK3, so if you try and go back and forth strange things happen. If you do want to swap applications be sure to force the PK3 to download new firmware each time. It's a real mess.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #12
    Prolific Poster normnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,361
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 78
    Given: 44
    Total Downloaded
    1.39 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?

    Quote Originally Posted by tumbleweed View Post
    The commandline tools are included with MPLABX (PK3CMD.EXE for the Pickit3) so you don't have to use the IPE if you want to integrate it into PDS.

    To answer one of the previous questions, once you update it you'll need to keep the new tools. One of the confusing issues with the PK3 is that a number of the programming apps (standalone, MPLABX, MPLAB8, commandline) require their own set of driver firmware to be loaded into the PK3, so if you try and go back and forth strange things happen. If you do want to swap applications be sure to force the PK3 to download new firmware each time. It's a real mess.
    It seems MPLABX may be updated sooner for the most recent PICs but otherwise any clear advantage one over the other for items such as speed for example? Is there a clear cut winner among the group?

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #13
    Senior Member tumbleweed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    485
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 59
    Given: 0
    Total Downloaded
    330.54 MB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?

    They've stopped supporting all of the old tools, so the only way to use new devices is to use the MPLABX generation stuff.

    There are some folks who have unofficially added support to the PK2 .dat file for some new devices, but that will only work with the standalone Pickit3 3.10 programmer and scripting tool app since that program basically turns your Pickit3 into a Pickit2. There's no central place to get those mods so you have to search around. Also, there are some devices that just can't be supported that way. The Pickit2 had limited memory for running its internal programming scripts and the larger devices max that out.

    For my experience NOTHING associated with MPLABX is faster...

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #14
    Prolific Poster normnet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    2,361
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 78
    Given: 44
    Total Downloaded
    1.39 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?

    Are the following the current PICkit3 programming choices and quirks?
    1. PK3CMD.exe Currently integrated into both ProtonIDE and FineLineIDE. Not the first to include the latest PIC's however.
    2. IPE Requires an initial browse to the PDS compiled hex to program. May require a browse again after a compile fail?
    3. MPLABX Requires an initial browse to the PDS compiled hex to program. Does MPLABX read updated hex on each successive PICKit3 program call?

    Norm
    Last edited by normnet; 18th February 2017 at 15:59.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #15
    Senior Member tumbleweed's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    485
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 59
    Given: 0
    Total Downloaded
    330.54 MB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: How to program a 18F45K40 with a PICKIT3?

    PK3CMD.exe Currently integrated into both ProtonIDE and FineLineIDE. Not the first to include the latest PIC's however
    That's not necessarily true. As a matter of fact, since MPLABX/IPE includes a version of pk3cmd.exe (you'll find it in the mplab_ipe folder) it's probably one of the easiest ways to get support for new devices.

    I don't use the standalone programming apps with PDS so maybe others have some feedback on how those work out.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

    Thread Information

    Users Browsing this Thread

    There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

       

    Similar Threads

    1. Why stays a part of RAM empty when I turn on RC1IE (18F45K40)?
      By Frizie in forum Proton Plus Compiler v3
      Replies: 5
      Last Post: 28th August 2018, 10:51
    2. Pickit3 interface
      By yvesmazzon in forum Absolute Beginners Section
      Replies: 9
      Last Post: 25th February 2016, 23:19
    3. Pickit3 debugger
      By ADLIN SYSTEMS in forum The Lounge
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 25th August 2012, 15:03
    4. Another PicKit3 thread
      By SimonGie in forum Proton Plus Compiler v3
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 14th October 2011, 10:56
    5. Pickit3
      By picnutz in forum Proton Plus Compiler v3
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 12th February 2009, 11:06

    Members who have read this thread since 16th November 2019, 17:50 : 0

    Actions :  (Set Date)  (Clear Date)

    You do not have permission to view the list of names.

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts