Pickit3 interface


+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Pickit3 interface1389 days old

  1. #1
    Member yvesmazzon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    209
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 6
    Given: 32
    Total Downloaded
    11.20 GB

    1 Not allowed!

    Default Pickit3 interface

    hi,
    Is it possible to have the Pickit 3 in Proton IDE programmer?

    Yves

Attention
×

This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


Thank you for your attention.

  • #2
    Andre
    Guest Andre's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: Pickit3 interface

    I have tried it also, the answer for now is: Sorry, not possible...

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #3
    Fanatical Contributor top204's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    3,404
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 290
    Given: 141
    Total Downloaded
    1.68 GB

    1 Not allowed!

    Default Re: Pickit3 interface

    It is possible, and it has been discussed on the forum many times in the past. Remember, the PICkit3 uses, essentially, the same mechanism as the PICkit2, but different executables. Do a search on the forum for either PICkit2 or PICkit3.

    Within the compiler's ProtonIDE folder is the command line version of PICkit3: "C:\Program Files (x86)\ProtonIDE\Plugin\PICkit3" It also has two .bat files that contain the command line parameters required: PICkit3_Powered.bat and PICkit3_Unpowered.bat

    PICkit3_Powered.bat is used if the PICkit3 is to supply the power.
    PICkit3_Unpowered.bat is used if the device has an external power supply to it.

    Within the IDE, click on "View->Compile and Program Options"

    In the window, choose "Programmer" and click on the "Install New Programmer" button.

    Follow the instructions for the name and location of the .bat file required and use the parameters:

    $target-device$ "$hex-filename$"

    It may be beneficial to take a look on the Microchip site for any newer version of PK3CMD.exe.
    Last edited by top204; 2nd February 2016 at 15:29.

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #4
    jom
    Guest jom's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: Pickit3 interface

    Good timing as I'm trying to do the same thing. I've followed the instructions you gave but it doesn't seem to work. A CMD window blinks really fast and then nothing.

    I couldn't figure out where the IDE asks for the BAT file...it only asked for inputting the name (PKCMD.exe) and the parameters...but it didn't ask for the BAT file....

    Thanks for any info you can give.

    jom

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #5
    myeeplacee
    Guest myeeplacee's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: Pickit3 interface

    This is rather old but may be of some help!

    I posted the following some time ago.
    The ZIP files can be found on the original post if you search for < PicKit Parameters > on this web site.


    Default PicKit Parameters

    This Post is for those in need of parameters for the PicKit2 and/or 3. I found them with a Google search.

    Attached are ZIPed Files of the PicKit 2 & 3 Read Me which contain the parameters for the Command Files and other interesting information.

    If you use the ( -Hk) switch at the end of your parameters for the PicKit2 the command window will stay open for viewing until you press any key.

    If you use the ( -B) switch the PicKit3 is run in batch mode which keeps the command window open after the operation finishes for viewing, you can then close it or program another PIC.

    With my system I had to use a (space and -) in front of each parameter, it failed when I used a (space and /) on my PicKit2. One Space and a hyphen is required between parameters.

    Here are the PikKit2 parameters I'm using:
    -PPIC$target-device$ -F$hex-filename$ -E -M -R -I -T -Hk

    Here are the PicKit3 parameters I'm using:
    -P$target-device$ -F$hex-filename$ -E -M -B -L

    Be sure to include this first (-PPIC$target-device$ -F$hex-filename$), without the parenthesizes then add the individual spaces, hyphens and character parameters.

    To apply or edit parameters do the following in the Proton IDE:
    1.) Click on View - click on Compile and Program Options
    2.) Click on Programmer
    3.) Click on Edit
    4.) Click on Next
    5.) Click on Next unless you want to search for your programmer executable.
    6.) Enter your parameters and click on finished
    Prior to changing your parameters it would be wise to copy your existing parameters to a file in case you need to go back to what you started with.

    When I edited my parameters I had a program, PicKit and breadboard set up for testing.

    The changes take place immediately, meaning you do not have to close and re-open Proton.

    I am running:

    Win 7, 64bit SP1
    IDE 2.0.3.3
    Compiler 3.5.6.3
    Loader 1.0.0.3

    PicKit 2:
    Application 2.61.00
    Device 1.61.00
    Firmware 2.32.00

    PicKit 3
    Product Version v2.00

    PK3 CMD.zipPK2 CMD.zip


    D
    Last edited by myeeplacee; 17th February 2016 at 04:35.

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #6
    jom
    Guest jom's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: Pickit3 interface

    Just a quick follow-up before I try this: How do you get IDE to use the specific .bat file (powered or Unpowered)? There isn't an entry for that in the "Compile and Program Options" Programmer Editor.

    Also, the ReadMe file states that PK3CMD.exe doesn't work with 64Bit Windows....yet you are using 64bit Windows. How did you get around that problem?

    Thanks

    jom

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #7
    myeeplacee
    Guest myeeplacee's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: Pickit3 interface

    As to not working with 64 bit win 7 - Just does for me I did nothing special.

    As to the BAt file - Can't help you there, I did nothing special.

    Just open the Proton IDE.

    At the top of the page click on view
    Click on compile and program options in the drop down box
    Click on programmer in the box that opens
    Click on Install new programmer
    Click on the radio button to "Create a custom programmer entry"
    Type in a name that you want to call your PK 3
    Click on NEXT and enter the file name for the PK3 executable (I believe the file name is PK3CMD.exe)
    Click next then click on Find Automatically or Manually if you know where it is on your drive
    on the last window that pops up you will enter the parameters I use the following:
    -P$target-device$ -F$hex-filename$ -E -M -B -L

    That should be all you need to do for Win 7

    I have not tried it on W10

    Dennis

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #8
    Prolific Poster rcurl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,828
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 31
    Given: 54
    Total Downloaded
    2.16 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: Pickit3 interface

    Quote Originally Posted by jom View Post
    Good timing as I'm trying to do the same thing. I've followed the instructions you gave but it doesn't seem to work. A CMD window blinks really fast and then nothing.

    I couldn't figure out where the IDE asks for the BAT file...it only asked for inputting the name (PKCMD.exe) and the parameters...but it didn't ask for the BAT file....

    Thanks for any info you can give.

    jom
    Hi Jom-
    The trick is to put the name of the batch file where the IDE asks for the Programmer filename.
    BTW- I'm running Win 8.1 64 bit and Pk3CMD is working fine,

    -Rick

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #9
    myeeplacee
    Guest myeeplacee's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: Pickit3 interface

    Hope this helps!

    You need to have MPLAB 8.9 IDE Loaded on your system for the PK3CMD.exe to run. If you don't have it the link below will get you the file.

    http://mplab-ide.software.informer.com/download/[/url]

    ATTACHMENT - PK3CMD.exe is at the bottom of this post!

    I could not upload the Text file so I copied the text file below:

    =*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=*=**=*= *=*=

    Release Notes for PICkit 3 Command Line Interface
    MPLAB® IDE v8.73
    Software and Firmware versions:
    MPPICkit3.dll v1.0.1.49
    PK3CMD.exe v1.00.12
    PICkit 3 Suite (OS/FW) v1.26.65 (PK3FW_012665.jam)


    June 24, 2011

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Table of Contents
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1. Tool Definition
    2. Device Support List
    3. Operating System Support List
    4. What's New or Updated
    5. Known Problems
    6. Important Notes
    7. Upgrading the Firmware
    8. Command Line Options
    9. Exit codes
    10. Troubleshooting
    11. Command Line Examples
    12. Customer Support

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1. Tool Definition
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    PK3CMD is a 32 bit command-line interface to
    MPLAB PK3CMD device programming support.

    The PK3CMD executable may be found, by default, in:
    C:\Program Files\Microchip\MPLAB IDE\Programmer Utilities\PICkit3


    Note: PK3CMD will only work with MPLAB IDE v8.33 and above
    -----
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    2. Device Support List
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    - PICmicro devices: drop "PIC", e.g., PIC16F877 becomes 16F877
    - dsPIC devices: drop "dsPIC", e.g., dsPIC30F6014 becomes 30F6014


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    3. Operating System Support List
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Windows® 2000 SP4, Windows XP SP2 and Windows Vista™ (32-Bit)* OSs

    * Only initial testing has been performed on 32-bit Vista for this release.

    NOTE: Windows NT® and Windows ME OSs are NOT supported.


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    4. What's New or Updated
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    1.0.2 Auto Update Firmware
    1.0.3 SQTP Support and Batch mode Operation
    1.0.4 Power Target from PICkit3
    1.0.5 Programming Calibration memory
    1.0.6 Hold in Reset
    1.0.7 Release From Reset,Reporgramming and Read specific region
    1.0.8 High Voltage MCLR and Program only selected Program Memory Range
    1.0.9 Read selected Program Memory Range

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    5. Known Problems
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ICD3-243: PK3CMD does not work on 64-bit OSs. The issue is that
    if the command line tool has to switch firmware versions, it will not be
    able to do that as it times out early.

    Workaround: Download the correct firmware for the device using MPLAB IDE.
    Once that is done the command line utility will detect the device.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    6. Important Notes
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    a. PK3CMD will auto update Firmware, this will cause delay to the operation
    b. Part name should be mentioned without Family Information like PIC/dsPIC
    Example. PIC18F67J50 should be mentioned as -P18F67J50
    c. Program and Verify Operation makes use of Selected Hex File using -F<file>
    d. Only Single session of PICkit3 communication is allowed
    e. Command line arguments are parsed alphabetically
    f. Batch Mode Operation will Initialize the PICkit3 once and perform the
    same operations repeatedly. On each repeat operation user intervention is required.
    Batch Mode will exit on following condition, Failure of operation or user request to stop.
    Warning: Batch Mode is suggested to use only for the .bat or direct invocation of
    PK3CMD as because it will enter into wait state for the user input.
    g. To generate SQTP file use MPLAB IDE, Select 'Programmer' under that 'MPLAB PM3',
    then select 'Settings' and open 'SQTP' tab.
    h. Reprogram will enable the user to update the selected part of memory.
    The reprogram hex file should contain only data for the selected memory range that
    needs to be updated. This option first read the device and update the selected memory
    then writes it back to the device.
    i. Program Memory Range Address must be aligned to the device's program memory boundary size.


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    9. Upgrading the Firmware
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    PK3CMD will automatically download the latest firmware if required

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    10. Command Line Options
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    The following commands are available in the command line interface.


    Description Options
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Part/Device -P<Part name>
    Batch Mode Operation -B
    Blank Check -C
    Erase Flash -E
    Hex File Selection -F<file>
    Read to file -G<Region>F<file>
    Region:
    P= Program Memory
    E= EEPROM
    I= ID Memory
    C= Configuration Memory
    B= Boot Flash Memory
    If no region is entered,
    the entire device will be read
    Hold in Reset -H
    Release from Reset -L
    High Voltage MCLR -I
    Program -M<Memory Region>
    P - Program Memory
    E= EEPROM
    I= ID Memory
    C= Configuration Memory
    B= Boot Flash Memory
    If no region is entered,
    the entire device will be programmed
    Program Memory Range -N####,####
    #### is a hexidecimal number representing
    Start and End Address in sequence
    Reprogram -R<file>
    SQTP File Selection -S<file>
    Program Calibration memory -U##
    ## is a hexidecimal number representing
    the least significant byte of the
    calibration value to be programmed
    Power Target -V<Voltage>
    Verify -Y
    Help -?
    Exit Code -?E

    Note: Commands are not case sensitive. Escape character can be a ‘-‘ or ‘/’.
    -----

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    11. Exit Codes
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    0 - All of the selected operations complete successfully
    1 - Invalid Command Line Argument
    2 - PICkit3 Communication Failed
    3 - Selected Operation Failed
    4 - Unknown Runtime Failure
    5 - Invalid Device Detected
    6 - SQTP Failed

    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    12. Troubleshooting
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I. Failed to communicate to PK3CMD:
    a. Make sure only one session is communication with PICkit3
    If PICkit3 is already loaded in MPLAB this will fail to communicate.
    b. Make sure computable Firmware type loaded on PICkit3 for the selected Device.
    To do that open MPLAB select the specific Device and Select PICkit3
    MPLAB will detect the FW if need it will update the PICkit3
    (By Default PICkit3 will automatically update Firmware)

    II. Programming Failed:
    a. Make sure the Selected Hex file computable with the current device
    b. Check the selected Memory Region it available in the Device
    c. Check the selected device requires Erase before programming


    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    11. Command Line Examples
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Program:
    --------
    Program Entire Device:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -FC:\DemoCode.Hex -M

    Program Entire device with SQTP file loaded :

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -Sc:\IdSQTP.NUM -FC:\DemoCode.Hex -M

    Program PROGRAM Memory:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -FC:\DemoCode.Hex -MP

    Program CONFIG Memory:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -FC:\DemoCode.Hex -MC

    Program EEPROM Memory:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -FC:\DemoCode.Hex -ME

    Program USER ID Memory:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -FC:\DemoCode.Hex -MI

    Program BOOT Memory:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -FC:\DemoCode.Hex -MB

    Program only selected Program Memory Range:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -FC:\DemoCode.Hex -M -N100,2FF


    Hold in Reset:
    --------------
    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -H


    Release from Reset:
    -------------------
    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -L


    Programming Calibration Memory:
    -------------------------------

    PK3CMD -P10F206 -FC:\DemoCode.Hex -M -U45

    Read:
    -----
    Read Entire Device to File:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -GFC:\DemoCode.Hex

    Read PROGRAM Memory:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -GPFC:\DemoCode.Hex

    Read CONFIG Memory:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -GCFC:\DemoCode.Hex

    Read EEPROM Memory:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -GEFC:\DemoCode.Hex

    Read USER ID Memory:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -GIFC:\DemoCode.Hex

    Read BOOT Memory:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -GBFC:\DemoCode.Hex

    Read selected Program Memory Range:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -GPFC:\DemoCode.Hex -N100,2FF

    Verify:
    -------
    Verify Data from File:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -FC:\DemoCode.Hex -Y


    Erase:
    ------
    Erase Entire Device:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -E


    Blank Check:
    -----------
    Blank Check Entire Device:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -C

    Batch Mode Operation:
    ---------------------
    Batch Mode can be combined with any operation:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -B -C


    Power Target:
    -------------
    Power Target from PICkit3:

    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -V3.000 -B -C

    Reprogram :
    -----------
    Reprogram with new Hex File:
    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -RF:\NewCode.hex -GFC:\OLDCode.Hex

    High Voltage MCLR :
    -------------------
    Use High Voltage MCLR:
    PK3CMD -P18F67J50 -I
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by myeeplacee; 18th February 2016 at 04:11.

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #10
    jom
    Guest jom's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Re: Pickit3 interface

    I have to look it over but I appreciate posts!Now if I can just get PDS to compile on my laptop I'll be rockin' jom

  • Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

    Thread Information

    Users Browsing this Thread

    There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

       

    Similar Threads

    1. PicKit3 Programmer
      By Dave-S in forum Proton Plus Compiler v3
      Replies: 18
      Last Post: 23rd September 2017, 20:54
    2. Debugging with PicKit3
      By J. Mark Wolf in forum Proton Plus Compiler v3
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 20th September 2012, 19:10
    3. Pickit3 debugger
      By ADLIN SYSTEMS in forum The Lounge
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 25th August 2012, 15:03
    4. Another PicKit3 thread
      By SimonGie in forum Proton Plus Compiler v3
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 14th October 2011, 10:56
    5. Pickit3
      By picnutz in forum Proton Plus Compiler v3
      Replies: 0
      Last Post: 12th February 2009, 11:06

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts