Development Board - Page 3


+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 11 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 45 of 153

Thread: Development Board4028 days old

  1. #31
    C_Moore
    Guest C_Moore's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    In the end I order it from MikroElektronika in the US
    MikroElektronika is not in the US.They are in Serbia. Circuit-Ed is the US distributer in the US.

  2. Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  3. #32
    Prolific Poster pic-ignorant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2,942
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 25
    Given: 31
    Total Downloaded
    926.61 MB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rcurl View Post
    I agree- it's probably the jumpers (but it's J8, J9, & J10)

    Don't give up on the on-board programmer just yet. Once you get familiar with it's quirks I think you will like it.

    -Rick
    Thanks Rick/Brian, its working now
    I just have to figure out where the I/O on the Dip8 socket go to. I know GPIO.2 goes to the RA2 led . Not much info in the manual about it

  4. Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  5. #33
    billyminor
    Guest billyminor's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Did you look on the CD John, usally they have a complete schematic of thier boards on the cd ,at least it is on the easypic4 CD

  6. Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  7. #34
    Prolific Poster pic-ignorant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    2,942
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 25
    Given: 31
    Total Downloaded
    926.61 MB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Thx Brian,
    I hope so, I'll check on monday, the CD is at work.
    With regard to fuses, I set them in Proton, but the LVP-OFF seems to be overwritten by the Programmer? I got caught out by that a few times.

  8. Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  9. #35
    billyminor
    Guest billyminor's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    One thing I don't think was mentioned was these boards seem to prefer being plugged into a usb socket at the back of your computer.They seem to be pretty sensitive to voltage and there is more voltage on the back usb plugs then the front ones which run up to the front by cables.Also sometimes it helps to disconnect the lcd/glcd's when programming.Don't know what to tell you about the lvp being overwritten as I just tried a boatload of different chips and everyone came up with the lvp off when set in proton.what version of picflash are you using? I'am using 7.13 maybe you have and older version cause I had some trouble's with 7.11 but this one seems fine

  10. Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  11. #36
    Copy'nPaste
    Guest Copy'nPaste's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Had an EP 3, still have an EP4, and now also EP5, and generally found that pic related problems was due to either not reading the instructions, or maybe not understanding them.
    I seems to not understand a lot, these days :-(

    And please, the PicFlash software runs circles around the PicKit.

    The board is most happy with an external supply, it's not the board's problem, it's your computer.
    Many USB ports aren't really 5V, as the spec says.

    Never had a problem with a correctly configured config/fuse setting either, huge problems when I, as usual, didn't understand

  12. Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  13. #37
    Gabriel22
    Guest Gabriel22's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by C_Moore View Post
    MikroElektronika is not in the US.They are in Serbia. Circuit-Ed is the US distributer in the US.

    Although Circuit-Ed is for the US ordering from MikroElektronika is still cheaper even with shipping since Circuit-Ed marks up the product. If you are in the US and ordering a dev board plus some accessories go with MikroElektronika.

  14. Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  15. #38
    ~ Sy ~
    Guest ~ Sy ~'s Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default Its arrived

    My EasyPic5 arrived today, consider myself very lucky.

    EasyPIC5 Development Board
    GLCD 128x64 with TouchScreen
    PIC18F4550
    2x16 LCD + DS1820 temp.sensor

    Total price including shipping and handling: 131.60 GBP

    Thanks to a good exchange rate in my favour. Going out tonight, will try and get it up and running in the next few days.

  16. Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  17. #39
    billyminor
    Guest billyminor's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    you really should have got a few of the easy connects too, oh well at least you got the important stuff
    http://www.mikroe.com/en/tools/easyconnect/

  18. Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  19. #40
    ~ Sy ~
    Guest ~ Sy ~'s Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Thanks, didn't see them, I'll get some if I need them, once I've got familiar with it.

  20. Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  21. #41
    ~ Sy ~
    Guest ~ Sy ~'s Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default A simple demo

    Hi,

    I have my easypic5 board set-up and having read the manual I think I have everything set-up and ready to go, with a PIC18F4550 installed in the DIP40 socket.

    Is there a simple PDS application I can upload to test the GLCD, LED's etc...as I tried one of my own just did a simple PRINT "HELLO WORLD", I think I had fuse settings set correctly, but am very green when it comes to electronics.

    I didn't see anything on the display.

    Thank you.

  22. Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  23. #42
    Prolific Poster rcurl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    1,883
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 32
    Given: 58
    Total Downloaded
    2.38 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ~ Sy ~ View Post
    Hi,

    I have my easypic5 board set-up and having read the manual I think I have everything set-up and ready to go, with a PIC18F4550 installed in the DIP40 socket.

    Is there a simple PDS application I can upload to test the GLCD, LED's etc...as I tried one of my own just did a simple PRINT "HELLO WORLD", I think I had fuse settings set correctly, but am very green when it comes to electronics.

    I didn't see anything on the display.

    Thank you.
    Hi Sy-

    First, look in the ProtonIDE\samples folder and load GLCD_test.bas. Then take a look at post #9 in this thread. Copy those declares into your code just after the line that says "warnings=off". This will cause them to supercede the defaults in the Proton18_G4 file.\

    Give that a shot and see what happens.

    -Rick

  24. Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  25. #43
    DaOne
    Guest DaOne's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Here is the code I use to setup my GLCD on the easypic5...


    Code:
    ' GLCD for easypic5
    ' Using a GRAPHIC LCD with an internal FONT
        
    LCD_DTPort = PORTD
    LCD_RSPin = PORTB.2
    LCD_ENPin = PORTB.4
    LCD_RWPin = PORTB.3
    LCD_CS1Pin = PORTB.1
    LCD_CS2Pin = PORTB.0
    GLCD_CS_Invert On 
    'LCD_TYPE = GRAPHIC
    LCD_Type = Samsung
    Internal_Font = On
    Font_Addr = 0
    GLCD_STROBE_DELAY = 10
    TRISB = 0 
    TRISD = 0
    PORTB.5 = 1 ' This is the rst pin

  26. Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  27. #44
    ~ Sy ~
    Guest ~ Sy ~'s Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    rcurl, thanks fpr the information.

    I took the GLCD_Test sample and modified the device in PROTON18_G4.INC, changing:

    Device = 18F452
    Xtal = 4

    to

    Device = 18F4550
    Xtal = 20

    I then took the code from Post 9 as suggested and pasted into the code after:

    Warnings = OFF

    I also inserted some fuse settings:

    Code:
    ' Display text and graphics on a graphic LCD
    
    		Include "PROTON18_G4.INT" 
    	    Optimiser_Level = 2
    
    Config_Start
       PLLDIV = 5 ; Divide by 5 (20 MHz oscillator input)
       CPUDIV = OSC1_PLL2 ; [OSC1/OSC2 Src: /1][96 MHz PLL Src: /2]
       USBDIV = 2 ; USB clock source comes from the 96 MHz PLL divided by 2
       FOSC = HSPLL_HS ; HS oscillator, PLL enabled, HS used by USB
       FCMEN = OFF ; Fail-Safe Clock Monitor disabled
       IESO = OFF ; Oscillator Switchover mode disabled
       PWRT = OFF ; PWRT disabled
       BOR = On ; Brown-out Reset enabled in hardware only (SBOREN is disabled)
       BORV = 3 ; Minimum setting
       VREGEN = On ; USB voltage regulator enabled
       WDT = OFF ; HW Disabled - SW Controlled
       WDTPS = 32768 ; 1:32768
       MCLRE = On ; MCLR pin enabled; RE3 input pin disabled
       LPT1OSC = OFF ; Timer1 configured for higher power operation
       PBADEN = OFF ; PORTB<4:0> pins are configured as digital I/O on Reset
       STVREN = On ; Stack full/underflow will cause Reset
       LVP = OFF ; Single-Supply ICSP disabled
       XINST = OFF ; Instruction set extension and Indexed Addressing mode disabled (Legacy mode)
       CP0 = OFF ; Block 0 (000800-001FFFh) not code-protected
       CP1 = OFF ; Block 1 (002000-003FFFh) not code-protected
       CPB = OFF ; Boot block (000000-0007FFh) not code-protected
       WRT0 = OFF ; Block 0 (000800-001FFFh) not write-protected
       WRT1 = OFF ; Block 1 (002000-003FFFh) not write-protected
       WRTB = On ; Boot block (000000-0007FFh) write-protected
       WRTC = OFF ; Configuration registers (300000-3000FFh) not write-protected
       EBTR0 = OFF ; Block 0 (000800-001FFFh) not protected from table reads executed in other blocks
       EBTR1 = OFF ; Block 1 (002000-003FFFh) not protected from table reads executed in other blocks
       EBTRB = OFF ; Boot block (000000-0007FFh) not protected from table reads executed in other blocks
    Config_End
    		 
    		Warnings = OFF   
    
    ' GLCD for easypic5
    ' Using a GRAPHIC LCD with an internal FONT
        
    LCD_DTPort = PORTD
    LCD_RSPin = PORTB.2
    LCD_ENPin = PORTB.4
    LCD_RWPin = PORTB.3
    LCD_CS1Pin = PORTB.1
    LCD_CS2Pin = PORTB.0
    Declare GLCD_CS_Invert On 
    'LCD_TYPE = GRAPHIC
    LCD_Type = Samsung
    Internal_Font = On
    Font_Addr = 0
    GLCD_STROBE_DELAY = 10
    TRISB = 0 
    TRISD = 0
    PORTB.5 = 1 ' This is the rst pin
    		
            Declare STAMP_COMPATIBLE_SIN = On
                   
    ' Set up some Variables
            
            Dim Xpos		As	Byte
            Dim	Ypos		As	Byte
     
            DelayMS 400
            Cls
            Print "Graphic LCD Test"
            
    Again:        
            For Xpos = 0 To 63
            	Ypos = Sin Xpos
            	Plot Xpos , Ypos
            	DelayMS 10
            Next
            For Xpos = 0 To 63
            	Ypos = Sin Xpos
            	UnPlot Xpos , Ypos
            	DelayMS 10
            Next                
    		GoTo Again
            
    		Include "FONT.INC"

    Unfortunately, whilst all the LEDs of Port D cycle at a rapid rate, RE1 and RE2 LEDs also toggle on and off, but nothing appears on either the LCD or the GLCD.

    Not sure where to start. The jumper settings look correct as per the manual.

  28. Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  29. #45
    DaOne
    Guest DaOne's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Did you remove the GLCD config from PROTON18_G4.INC? Try adding those changed commands to you main file and op out PROTON18_G4.INC. Also check your contrast adjustment knob.

  30. Attention
    ×

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

     

Similar Threads

  1. Proton Development Suite + Development board
    By PAKirk in forum Proton Plus Compiler v3
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 8th March 2005, 00:11
  2. Development Board
    By PAKirk in forum The Lounge
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 7th August 2004, 17:03
  3. [SOLVED !] communicating with development board
    By nickb in forum Proton Development Board
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th July 2004, 10:24
  4. PROTON Development Board
    By Gareth in forum Proton Development Board
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th July 2003, 01:21
  5. tcp/ip development board
    By elliot in forum Wish List / Product Feedback
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th February 2003, 12:02

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts