PDS Bootloader by Mecanique: Good luck with USB-to-RS232 converters


+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 19
  1. #1
    picnaut
    Guest picnaut's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Thumbs down PDS Bootloader by Mecanique: Good luck with USB-to-RS232 converters

    Hello,

    I have a beef with the bootloader that comes with PDS.
    Itís the same bootloader that comes with their Microcode Studio IDE for a competitorís product.
    In both cases, I can NOT get it to work with USB-to-RS232 serial port converters.
    I have a 4-port Keyspan converter and two different 1 port converters.
    None of them work with this bootloader.

    Why is this?
    All 3 converters have been reviewed quite well by customers (who are apparently using them in applications other that PDS), and the Keyspan in particular is of pretty high quality.
    I checked the DTR line functionality (which is used on many development boards to reset the PIC) and it works fine on all three of these converters.
    Is there a fix or workaround for this or is the Mecanique bootloader just unable to use anything but an actual serial port (which is becoming rare these days)?

    Anyway, let me know. Iíd like to be able to program my development board from any computer whether it has a serial port or not.

    Cheers.

Attention

This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


Thank you for your attention.

  • #2
    Maverick
    Guest Maverick's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    These issues always crop up with USB>RS232 converters (try searching the forum) The problem is usually down to the fact that the RS232 is emulated over USB and is rarely a hardware perfect emulation.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #3
    cgriffin
    Guest cgriffin's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    I've never had an issue. My usb/serial converters use FTDI chips in them. I had one that was a different brand, and it worked also, but I gave it away so I could standardize on one driver.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #4
    Fanatical Contributor Tim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    7,676
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 47
    Given: 95
    Total Downloaded
    1.32 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    When developing P-ICD we had to buy a number of different Serial usb converter cables and our standard test to see if the cable worked before we tested it on P-ICD was to do the boot loader test. Ever one we tried pasted both tests.
    Tim

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #5
    cgriffin
    Guest cgriffin's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tim View Post
    ... Ever one we tried pasted both tests.
    Tim, you do not know how thankful we are that your coding skills so greatly surpass your typing skills!

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #6
    Fanatical Contributor Tim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    7,676
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 47
    Given: 95
    Total Downloaded
    1.32 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Aaa the joys of dyslexia

    I bless the person who invented the spell checker
    Tim

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #7
    ctglabs
    Guest ctglabs's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by picnaut View Post
    Hello,
    In both cases, I can NOT get it to work with USB-to-RS232 serial port converters.
    Hi,

    I had the same problem with two USB to RS232 convertors. Just go to the virtual comm port on Devices under control panel and change the latency setting to 10mS or less and it works fine.


    Regards,

    Dave.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #8
    picnaut
    Guest picnaut's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Hi,

    I'd appreciate any recommendations for USB-to-RS232 converters that work with the bootloader.



    Cheers!

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #9
    ctglabs
    Guest ctglabs's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by picnaut View Post
    Hi,

    I'd appreciate any recommendations for USB-to-RS232 converters that work with the bootloader.



    Cheers!
    Hi,

    I have used UB232R from FTDI on many occasions with out any problem once latency setting was adjusted below 10mS.

    I also tried USB-MOD2.

    I think once this setting is adjusted, any will work.


    Regards,

    Dave.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #10
    Senior Member SimonJA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    827
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 14
    Given: 16
    Total Downloaded
    889.46 MB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Iíve used several different usb-serial converters and theyíve all worked. The only problem I did have was speed and in the end I got fed up and used a usb in-circuit programmer instead. This is very quick and I have never gone back to bootloading.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #11
    picnaut
    Guest picnaut's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Question

    Hello,

    Where exactly is the latency setting?
    I can't seem to find it.

    Cheers.

    Quote Originally Posted by ctglabs View Post
    Hi,

    I had the same problem with two USB to RS232 convertors. Just go to the virtual comm port on Devices under control panel and change the latency setting to 10mS or less and it works fine.


    Regards,

    Dave.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #12
    ctglabs
    Guest ctglabs's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Hi,

    Right click on My Computer...

    Properties...

    Hardware...

    Device Manager...

    Right click on the relevant Comm Port and Select Properties...

    Port Settings Tab...

    Advanced...

    Now you should see it...


    Regards,

    Dave.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #13
    picnaut
    Guest picnaut's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    Hello,

    It's not there on either of my USB-to-RS232 converters, but it is there on a USB-programmer that I have. So, I know where to look if I had a USB-to-RS232 serial port converter with this option.

    Thanks.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #14
    picnaut
    Guest picnaut's Avatar

    0 Not allowed!

    Question

    Hello,

    I have a Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port device and a Keyspan USA49W-1 USB-to-serial 4-port expander.
    Has anybody been able to get these two to work.
    Iím not sure what the other one at home is, but Iím going to check tonight.

    Cheers.

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

  • #15
    Fanatical Contributor Tim's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    7,676
    Thumbs Up
    Received: 47
    Given: 95
    Total Downloaded
    1.32 GB

    0 Not allowed!

    Default

    USB expanders are notoriously slow. There is load of kit I cannot use though mine.

    Have you tested the speed throughput using HRSOUT etc?

    Have you tried using the USB cable not through the expander?
    Tim

  • Attention

    This valuable resource relies upon the very small amount of revenue generated by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

    The advertisements we display are relevant to this web site and your browsing history

    Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.


    Note: Some users have reported issues related to ad-blockers rendering parts of this wesite unusable,
    where possible we will rectify the issues to enable you to use this resource with adblocking enabled.

    If you can, please report issues in the forum area WebSite / Forum Issues


    Thank you for your attention.

    Thread Information

    Users Browsing this Thread

    There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

       

    Similar Threads

    1. FTDI USB chip and Mecanique bootloader?
      By Sparky1039 in forum Mecanique - IDE
      Replies: 4
      Last Post: 28th July 2009, 15:08
    2. [SOLVED !] USB to RS232 converter - bootloader
      By wirecut in forum Windows Application Development
      Replies: 11
      Last Post: 2nd November 2008, 00:17
    3. Connecting 2 pics by RS232, without line converters
      By pmcleod in forum Proton Plus Compiler v3
      Replies: 14
      Last Post: 17th February 2008, 21:26
    4. Proton vs. Mecanique bootloader confusion
      By J. Mark Wolf in forum Proton Plus Compiler v3
      Replies: 6
      Last Post: 12th June 2006, 13:52
    5. Mecanique Bootloader Hex Files
      By picnaut in forum Mecanique - IDE
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 8th April 2005, 19:14

    Members who have read this thread since 8th November 2019, 01:32 : 0

    Actions :  (Set Date)  (Clear Date)

    You do not have permission to view the list of names.

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts