PDA

View Full Version : PIC device + PICBasic recommendation

Llamabob
5th January 2007, 17:41
Hello,

I've got a project that I've been working on part time for about 2 years, and I'm finally serious about finishing it, which may involve me scrapping my other uC approach with their assembly / C environment and going to something more productive like PICBasic.

My delima is that I "think" I need at least four 16-bit timers, which from what I've seen is beyond the peripherial mix of the 8-bit PICs. I've never used a PIC before, so any suggestions would be greatly apprecited.

What I'm trying to do is measure two positive digital input signals that range from 0.7mS to 2.3mS in width, which repeat every 50mS. I also have two digital outputs, where I produce a similar signal... ranging from 0.7mS to 2.3mS every 50mS. Sometimes the output signal's values track the input signals values, and other times, the uC will output its own value independent of input, still within that range.

I've tried using an 8-bit hardware timer on each input and output to do this, but 256 steps are too large, and my box would introduce quantization noise into the system. So currently, I use a 16-bit timer/counter on each input and output. With this approach, I'm stuck with a requirement of four 16-bit timers / counters, which is beyond the 8-bit peripherial mix of the PIC from what I've seen.

With the non-Pic 8-bit uC that I used, to minimize the number of counters, I also tried an approach using a single counter, enabling the input pin interupts, then doing a time-stamp on each pin transition, then on the trailing edge, calculating the pulse width. With that approach, there was unacceptable jitter between the input and output.

Any recommendations that would keep me in the 8-bit world using PICBasic would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Bob

Tim
6th January 2007, 00:28
Hello Bob

if I understand your requirement right, your looking to time two input signals and output two signals.