PDA

View Full Version : usb key not found problem

hoyungh
3rd December 2006, 13:23
I am a newbie. I just got my proton dev suite last friday and installed. Unfortunately I still cannot get it to work.

The installation proceeded smoothly and I can even update both the ide and compiler over the internet. However when I try to compile the program says the usb key is not found.

Can someone please help??

C_Moore
3rd December 2006, 14:31
Hello hoyungh,

Does the dongle light up when you plug it in? Thats odd that you can update the compiler and IDE,yet you can't compile code.You can try this.Its a different driver for the dongle.

http://www.picbasic.org/forum/showpost.php?p=24543&postcount=21

hoyungh
3rd December 2006, 14:39
Yes it lights up. I am using the new driver for the dongle.

C_Moore
3rd December 2006, 15:35
Did it ever work?I mean were you ever able to compile code?If not then sounds like a faulty key.:(

hoyungh
3rd December 2006, 16:19
I am hoping it is something simple I overlooked or something stupid I did.

When I first installed the application the usb key lit up but I couldn't compile. I called crownhill but by the time they got my email it was almost 5pm friday .

At their suggestion I looked through the forum and tried almost everthing that looked similar to my problem. I didn't realise I was not supposed to be able to update the program without the key until today. (stupid huh?)

Thanks for your quick replies. You're really responsive.

What you're saying suggests there are separate passwords for updating and compiling and the password for compiling is corrupted in my unit.

I would rather not have to send the key back to crownhill and perhaps crownhill could use the same password for both in my case when I next update the program.

Or maybe its just something silly that I did.

Thanks

C_Moore
3rd December 2006, 16:25
Hi hoyungh,